30 days

So are you ready?
Omg, I’m so excited for you!”
How’s the preparations going?”
Is everything okay? You booked for facial and misc. already?

You guys, I have not even finished reading this book –

a_gift_for_musli_53363b3e1a351

One of the main reasons why I have a hard time swallowing the contents was because… It portrayed women as a submissive person and someone who always have to listen to what their husband have to say. I read up till page 30 and had to put it down because I can’t handle how subdued the women were. However, a friend of mine told me that I should read it with an open mind. And so I did and began reading it again from the first page.

I must say though, it’s very interesting to read about our prophet’s (pbuh), their wives and daughters’ lives back in the day. I’m not saying that I agree with what they say in the book but some of them are relevant and related to the teachings of the Quran. My goal till the day I’m about to be someone’s wife is to finish the book. So insyaallah, may He ease my journey in finishing the book (disclaimer: I am an avid reader/bookworm but when a book doesn’t entice me, it has to go).

Anyhow, back to my 30 days countdown…

Caterer & Decor✔ (Met up with Kak Erra to discuss food & decor. Site recce will be the week before my wedding )
Wedding Favours for Guests & Children (Berkat)✔
Hantaran Trays✔ DIY (Pending buying the flowers/necessities.)
Bunga Pahar/Sireh Dara✔  (My caterer will be doing my sireh dara while my MOH will be doing for the Groom.)
Bunga Manggar✔ DIY
Bunga Rampai✔ DIY
Bunga Pahar – ✔ (My mother insisted on having one but it won’t be on my pelamin. My caterer will put it on her berkat table.)
Wedding Cake✔
Venue – ✔
Bridal  – ✔ (Went for my first selection and deeds about the selection with Nawwarah in the next post. Pending final fitting & trial makeup.)
Bridal Bouquet ✔
Henna✔ (Most likely will do the red inai but not on the nails.)
Photographer✔ (Pre-wed shoot done!)
Music/MC/Entertainment✔
Kompang ✔
Photobooth/Guestbook✔ DIY (pending the decor for the table)
Wedding Invitations 
✔ 
Wedding Rings
✔
Bridesmaids & Groomsmen Attire –
✔
Hantaran gifts – ✔
Bridal shoes – ✔
Honeymoon – ✔ (booked the flight tix last year, settled accommodation/attraction tickets in January. Pending itinerary.)

Alhamdullilah, I believe most things are striked off from the to-do list.

I’m mostly left with:
1) DIY stuff for the guestbook table/hantaran trays
2) buying the necessities for my room
3) dresses/accessories for the flower girls
4) shirt for my close cousins and uncle

We’re almost there…

8 thoughts on “30 days

  1. fashasamsudin says:

    Finally, someone who has similar thoughts as me! Everyone raves about the book but initially, I was quite uncomfortable w how submissive the women were portrayed and expected to behave!

    Like

    • Potential Bridezilla says:

      Omg yesssssssss! If I could do a hi-5 with you right now, I totally would. I bought it because people RAVED about it too and I just don’t understand. It’s like some rules and regulations that women have to obey and macam we are not independent kan? Are you done with the book though?

      Liked by 1 person

      • fashasamsudin says:

        Yeap, I felt like it wasn’t something relevant in today’s age but I hated feeling that way because Islam most definitely is & the book just wasn’t doing a great job of putting that point across. Unfortunately, I didn’t finish it cos I was put off but after reading your posts – maybe I’ll try again with a slightly open mind? Maybe now that I’m married, I might feel differently?

        Liked by 2 people

      • Potential Bridezilla says:

        I completely understand how you feel! So heartening to know other ladies feel the same way too!! Let me know if you can finish it because…I know my goal is to finish it by the time I’m married but nampaknyee….terlampau busy sangat :p

        Like

  2. Amirah Ayob says:

    Hahaha omg, me too! I stopped reading the first chapter. Firstly i hate the font used, and it somewhat portrays as an ‘instructional manual’ on how to be the best wife instead of teaching us the whys and why nots. I feel like it doesnt work with Singapore’s society. I prefers Yasmin’s relieve your heart 10 times more. Now its collecting dust at a corner but i feel bad cos my partner bought it for me but i dont have the heart to say i dont like it. 😣😣

    Like

    • Potential Bridezilla says:

      YASSSS!!! Yasmin’s book is the bomb. I finished reading it within 2 sitting and I kept going back to read and reflect on my life 🙂 I totally agree with you on the font…mcm kiddish kan? Takpelah…maybe one fine day you will finish it? Slowly but surelyyyyy (chants to self too)!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Potential Bridezilla says:

      OMG. Luckily I’m not the only one. I was a bit hesitant to tell others about my thoughts on the book especially on a public space but it’s so heartening to know that there are some people (like me), who disagrees with some of the content written 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

